top of page


Founding director Steve Grieve was honoured recently at the 2019 South Australian Architecture Awards with the Sir James Irwin President’s Medal. In presenting the award, SA Chapter President Tony Giannone celebrated Steve's diverse portfolio of projects, his passion towards the Arts and their inherent link with architecture, and as being a stalwart of Adelaide's architectural profession in his advocacy for all things South Australian.


This award, which is funded by the late Sir James Irwin recognises excellence in the contribution made to architecture. Over the years the medal has been awarded annually by the current SA Chapter President of the Australian Institute of Architects to individuals, partnerships and Government agencies. 

"This year’s recipient of the Sir James Irwin President’s Medal amplifies the meaning of collaboration in South Australian design. As a stalwart of Adelaide’s architectural profession his advocacy towards all things South Australia is lauded and celebrated.

With an often larrikin approach, his passion for defending and advocating for local representation and the contribution of our profession has seen him, at times, at odds with the powers that be – when they are more interested in the national and global connect.

A passionate supporter of the Arts and their inherent link with architecture, he has served on numerous boards and committees, from the Experimental Art Foundation, Country Arts SA, Regional Arts Australia to the Adelaide Fringe Board amongst others.

Graduating in 1975, he was the recipient of an Institute Special Award for Performing Arts in 1996 and a Churchill Fellowship in 2008. He served as the South Australia Chapter President between 2013 – 2015 and as the National Honorary Secretary in 2014. Advocacy in promoting the use of local alumni in South Australian projects resounded across his tenure. As a teacher he has contributed to furthering education in this State and was Professor at the University of Adelaide in the School of Architecture and Built Environment between 2013 – 2018.

Steve Grieve Architects was founded in 1982 and after 37 years of practice has evolved into Grieve Gillett Andersen today. The Studio has passionately mentored the emerging and foster many new practices over the years. Steve is the recipient of many projects and awards, too numerous to nominate, but known to many people in our profession. They have defined an Adelaide design vocabulary over many years.

As is required to operate in the Adelaide landscape, Steve’ diverse portfolio of projects generated over 37 years of practice range from the arts, residential to heritage, conversation and adaptive reuse, infrastructure and the recent Anzac Centenary Memorial Walk. The studio’s work is representative of all that is South Australian.

As a peer and sounding board, he never shies away from sharing his intellect and streetwise experience with other members of the Profession. He has given back to our profession many times over. It is my privilege and honour to bestow the Sir James Irwin Medal to Steve Grieve."

Tony Giannone

SA Chapter President

Published on 1 July 2019

bottom of page